The Drowned Book

O! For a Muse of Water! Or a glass – I’ll take a glass.

Some time ago, never mind how long exactly, I decided that I wanted to read or re-read all of Shakespeare’s plays, and I started to do so. Then I realized, why just read them when I could also deconstruct them?

There are so many books on Shakespeare, and I’ve been reading a lot of them. But the more I read the texts themselves the more I find my opinions differing from certain critics. That is why I figured I would codify my own views on the Bard’s texts. Which brings us to this blog.

Over the course of the next few months, I will be sharing my views of the plays; approaching them from both a literary and theatrical perspective. A bit of deconstruction, a bit of reflection – whatever strikes me as important. It won’t be objective, because that’s boring. And while I may reference certain critics, it will not just be a rehashing of their works (so Harold Bloom, if for whatever reason you are reading this, I am not stealing your work!)

I think this is a way to codify my thoughts and to maybe bring to a group of readers some manageable knowledge about the plays. I am not writing these for only those familiar with Shakespeare or his works. Of course, if you have read the work you will have a deeper understanding of what I write and be able to disagree with me, but I will provide all knowledge needed.

These blogs will not be pedantic, but they will be on the academic side – and hopefully enjoyable. So I hope you will take the time and peruse what is here, or what will be here.

I was originally going to go in some form of chronological order, or by genre as most critics do. Marjorie Garber, in her excellent work Shakespeare After All, points to the fact that we should consider Shakespeare’s works in chronological order because one builds upon the others and we see how he develops tropes throughout his writing career. There is certainly a truth to this.

But I don’t really want to do that. So I’m going to go in a random order, whatever I feel like. That way we get a nice blend of comedy, tragedy, history, early, late &c.

I will be starting with The Comedy of Errors: which is coming off the presses soon and should be posted shortly. Stay tuned.

Leave a comment

Filed under external thoughts

Leave a Reply

